judges: Maura Dooley & Jamie McKendrick (Both judges will read all poems).
Prizes: 1st £1000, 2nd £500, 3rd £250, & 20 prizes of £20 each  plus
a Spring 2010 Coffee-House Poetry season ticket and  a prizewinners’ Coffee-House Poetry reading  with Maura Dooley & Jamie McKendrick  on Monday 30th November 2009 for all winning poets

Submissions: by Friday 9th October 2009


Maura Dooley was born in Truro, grew up in Bristol, and after working for some years in Yorkshire now lives in London. She is a freelance writer and lectures at Goldsmiths’ College. She edited “Making for Planet Alice: New Women Poets” (1997) and “The Honey Gatherers: A Book of Love Poems” (2002) for Bloodaxe, and “How Novelists Work” (2000) for Seren. “Life Under Water” (Bloodaxe Books, 2008) is her first new collection since “Sound Barrier: Poems 1982-2002″ (Bloodaxe Books, 2002), which drew on collections including “Explaining Magnetism” (1991) and “Kissing a Bone” (1996), both Poetry Book Society Recommendations. “Life Under Water” was shortlisted for the T. S. Eliot Prize 2008.

Jamie McKendrick, one of the Poetry Society’s ‘New Generation’ poets, was born in Liverpool in 1955, studied at Nottingham University, has taught at Salerno University and now lives in Oxford. He is author of five collections of poetry: “The Sirocco Room” (1991); “The Kiosk on the Brink” (1993); “The Marble Fly” (1997), winner of the Forward Best Poetry Collection  Prize and a Poetry Book Society Choice; “Ink Stone” (2003); and “Crocodiles and Obelisks” (2007), shortlisted for 2008 Forward (Best Poetry Collection) Prize. His selected poems have been published in Holland and Italy and he edited the “Faber Book of 20th-century Italian Poems” (2004).

Both judges will read all poems submitted.


General: Entry implies acceptance of all rules; failure to comply with rules may result in disqualification; competition open to poets of any nationality over 18 years; no competitor may win more than one prize; judges’ decision is final; no individual correspondence will be entered into.

Poems: Poems must be in English, must each be no longer than 45 lines, must fit on one page of A4, must be the original work of the entrant and must not have been previously broadcast or published (in print or online); winning & commended poems may be published (in print or online) by the Troubadour Poetry Prize and may not be published elsewhere for one year after 9th October 2009 without written permission. No limit on number of poems submitted.

Fees: All entries must be accompanied by fee of EITHER £5/€6/$8 per poem if fewer than 4 poems OR £4/€5/$7 per poem if 4 or more poems submitted; payment by cheque or money order (Sterling/Euro/US-Dollars only) payable to “Coffee-House Poetry” with poet’s name (and/or e-mail Entry Acknowledgement Reference) written on back.

By Post: No entry form required; each poem must be typed on one side of A4 white paper showing title & poem only; do not show author’s name or any other identifying marks on submitted poems; include a separate page showing Name, Address, Phone, E-Mail (optional), Titles and Number of Poems EITHER @ £5/€6/$8 each OR @ £4/€5/$7 each; no staples; entries are not returned.

By E-mail: No entry form required; poems must be submitted in body of e-mail (no attachments) to [email protected]; entries should be preceded by Name, Address, Phone, Titles and  Number of Poems EITHER @ £5/€6/$8 each OR @ £4/€5/$7 each; acknowledgement will be sent to entrant’s e-mail address showing Entry Acknowledgment Reference; send payment by post quoting Entry Acknowledgement Reference;  e-mail entries will be included only when payment received by post.

Acknowledgement/Results: will be sent to all e-mail entrants; postal entrants should include stamped, addressed postcard marked “Acknowledgement” and/or stamped, addressed A5 envelope marked “Results” if required.

Deadline: All postal entries, and postal payments for e-mail entries, to arrive at Troubadour Poetry Prize, Coffee-House Poetry, PO Box 16210, LONDON, W4 1ZP postmarked on or before Friday 9th October 2009. Prizewinners will be notified by Friday 20th November 2009. Prizegiving will be on Monday 30th November 2009 at Coffee-House Poetry at the Troubadour.

  1. No comments yet.
(will not be published)

  1. No trackbacks yet.